BMX
// Home /
Drew Mechielsen
Email

Name/Nom: Drew Mechielsen

Age: 18

Height/Hauteur: 5’6 (152cm)

Hometown/Ville d’attache: Langley, B.C.

Current residence/Ville d’attache: Langley, B.C.

Education/Éducation: Graduated high school in 2015 and plan on beginning my post-secondary education in September

What age did you start cycling?/À quel  âge avez-vous commencé le cyclisme? 3 years old

What inspired you to start riding / racing?/Qu`est-ce qui vous a inspiré pour commencer à faire du vélo / faire compétitions? Living right around the corner from the BMX track and my older brother started, so I decided to copy him and give it a try as well

First bike?/Premier vélo? a blue GT micro mini

First cycling club or team?/Premier club Cycliste où équipe cycliste? Langley BMX

Childhood hero?/Héro d`enfance?  Samantha Cools, I always wanted to be just like her!

Career highlight to-date?/Fait saillant de votre carrière à ce jour? that probably would be to make a few elite mains in my first year of junior while racing in the US

Favourite place to train in Canada?/Lieu préféré pour vous entraîner  au Canada? the Abbotsford BMX track

Favourite race?/Course favorite? The Argentina Supercross race, the BMX fans there are unreal!

High sock or low?/Chausettes cyclistes courtes où hautes? High socks when I’m riding for sure!

Favourite food?/Aliment préféré? This beef and broccoli slow cooker meal my mom makes. But my favourite all time cheat meal is definitely pizza

Hobbies / pastimes away from cycling?/Loisir où passe-temps autre que le cyclisme? Yoga! I love going to yoga, I try to make it at least once a week

Favourite place to travel or race abroad?/Endroit préféré pour voyager où faire pour faires courses? Holland since I have family there it feels close to home for me, but also Europe in general. They have some of the best tracks in the world to train on and I love the culture.

Favourite music?/Musique préférée? I’m all over the place, it depends on what I’m doing. But training music is always something upbeat and motivating for me, I like remixes.

Favourite tv show or movie?/Émission favorite de télé où film préféré? I’m into cooking shows! You’ll almost always find me watching the food network right now.

Interesting or little-known fact about you?/Un aspect peu connu sur toi qui est intéressant? I’m really interested in history, I love reading books about WWI and II